A Swift Beginning

import UIKit
// Swift: A new programming language for iOS and OS X.
class WordPressBlogViewController: UIViewController {
override func viewDidLoad() {
super.viewDidLoad()
println("Hello World")
}
}

Created by Apple, Swift compiles down to (and can be used alongside of) Objective-C. From the moment I watched its birth during the 2014 WWDC Keynote, I knew it was something I wanted to learn. Nearly a decade ago, I began my life as a developer within Microsoft’s .NET environment. Shortly thereafter, I moved on to become a full-stack web developer. It’s been a long time since I’ve developed native applications, but after entering the Apple ecosystem a few short years ago, it’s something I’ve wanted to return to. When Swift was announced, I realized this was my chance to jump in with both feet.

On Tuesday, May 12th, 2015 – yesterday, nearly a year after its introduction – I finally made an important first-step decision: to enroll in Udacity’s Intro to iOS App Development with Swift Nanodegree program, which promises to walk me through developing 4 beginner-level iOS applications, in Swift, while teaching me the necessary skills and understanding I’ll need for the future. At the end of the program, I will be left to my own devices to create any application of my choice — a Capstone Project.

Upon successful completion of the course, I will be awarded a Nanodegree credential and have a small portfolio of example applications readily available, which is a necessity when trying to convince a prospective employer (or client) to hire you and your hopefully-prolific skills. Udacity also offers a lot of guidance and support along the way, so you’ll never be left floundering.

This blog will serve as a way for me to chronicle my journey, posting what I’ve learned along the way, to hopefully help others who are considering this desirable path. If you’re still interested, then read on, swiftly!

A Swift Beginning

Leave a Reply

